women's flat track roller derby team in columbus, ohio - empowering women and gender-expansive people in sport
roller derby, columbus ohio, flat track roller derby, as seen in columbus, roller skating, columbus ohio sports teams, columbus ohio women's sports team, columbus ohio non-binary sports teams, columbus ohio trans sports teams, columbus ohio trans friendly, columbus ohio rec sports team, columbus ohio things to do
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-3553,single-format-standard,qode-social-login-1.1.3,qode-restaurant-1.1.1,stockholm-core-2.4,select-child-theme-ver-1.1,select-theme-ver-9.6,ajax_updown_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode_menu_center,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.13.0,vc_responsive


March 19th will kick off Ohio Roller Derby’s eleventh season of exciting, hard-hitting, and highly competitive roller derby in central Ohio. Along with the league’s new name, fans of the team will also see some new faces skating for the charter team this season.

For the first time in a long time, Ohio Roller Derby has filled their twenty skater roster with veterans, graduates from Gang Green, and a couple of fantastic transfer skaters. Those familiar with the team will recognize “All Star” veterans Bigg Rigg, Burnadeath, Chainsaw, Jesse “Ava Tarr” Fox, Kitty Liquorbottom, KloverKill, Stevie Brown (formerly known as Slammerhead), The Smacktivist, Zee “Loraine Acid” Gulertekin, and after a short hiatus from the team… the return of Lora “Outa My” Wayman. Also making her debut for the “All Star” squad this season is long-time Gang Green skater, Blitz Lemon. Skaters splitting time between the “All Stars” and Gang Green include Elektra Magneto, Garden of Beatin’, Karmabal Lectur, Paige Bleed, Quiet Storm, Sarah Sexton, and Val Holla. Ohio Roller Derby was also fortunate to receive a couple of transfer skaters who will be splitting time between the two teams as well. Kruel-Aid comes to the OHRD as a former Captain of the Chemical Valley Rollergirls out of Charleston, West Virginia. Betty T. KayO is another transfer skater who did a brief stint with the D.C. Rollergirls, and both Kruel and Betty are set to make an early impact within the league.

Currently ranked #31 in the world according to the most recent rankings release by the Women’s Flat Track Derby Association, Ohio is scheduled to play six home bouts and six road bouts in their 2016 campaign. The league will take to the road three times this season: once to Detroit to play the Detroit Derby Girls, once to Columbia (SC) to take on the Columbia QuadSquad and the Atlanta Rollergirls, and a trip to the Skate To Thrill tournament in Missouri against three opponents to be named at a later date.

But home is where the heart is, and the Ohio Roller Derby are set to increase the excitement this season as they welcome in some opponents that they’ve never faced before. The home opener is set for March 19th against the Ann Arbor Derby Dimes, a team that has simply been shooting up the rankings over the last two years. Ohio will then have two bouts in April, with one on April 2nd against Ithaca League of Women Rollers (NY) and again on April 30th against Tri-City Roller Derby (Ontario). On May 14th, the OHRD welcome in the Carolina Rollergirls (NC) for a rubber match after splitting their first two meetings over the last few years. The Roc City Roller Derby (NY) will visit on June 11th and just four weeks later on July 2nd will be a matchup with the Killamazoo Derby Darlins (MI).

All bouts this season will be played in the Ohio Building at the Ohio Expo Center. Ohio Roller Derby’s “All Stars” will play first at 5:00 p.m. with Gang Green to follow. Seating is limited, so purchase your tickets ahead of time to avoid missing the action due to a sell-out. Season and individual game tickets are available through the league’s website, http://www.ohiorollerderby.net. Ohio Roller Derby appreciates all the support we have received from our great fans and city over the past decade. We look forward to providing you with some of the best roller derby in the world this season!

Photos by: Joe Mac

Andrew Marron